*AFTER 6 of 6 ROUNDS*



                Points System Explained for 2017 Mod Racing Season

There will be three qualifying points rounds, which ultimately set up the final elimination racing bracket to jointly determine the finishing order of the event. The finishing order is a combination of how each truck finishes both in the results of the qualifying rounds, along with the finishing in the final elimination bracket.

Qualifying Rounds
The qualifying rounds are generated from the Traxxas Race Day mobile app, which randomly creates a racing bracket including all trucks. A full elimination bracket is run using this bracket, and trucks accumulate points for each race they win or lose, as they advance through the bracket. 10 points reward each individual win, 5 points for a loss and 3 points for a DQ or DNF. After three of these qualifying brackets are generated at random and complete, the trucks all have points totals which set the qualifying order, from 1st to last.

Final Elimination Round
The final elimination round is looked at as the “A Main” of the event. The top 15 trucks make this bracket automatically, while the remainder of the trucks battle in a mini bracket or “B Main” for a position as the 16th truck in the final racing elimination bracket.
A final elimination bracket is set up based on the qualifying order, determined by the points total from 1st to last, which comes from the three qualifying rounds. The winner of the final elimination bracket is automatically the winner of the event. The second place truck is automatically the truck that loses in the final round of the final elimination bracket. From here, the rest of the finishing order is determined by both how far the truck got in the elimination final round, and how they finished during the points races. Out of the trucks that made the final four,  3rd and 4th are determined by which trucks finished higher in the points qualifying rounds. Out of the trucks that made the top 8 and were eliminated there, positions 5 through 8 are assigned by how the trucks ranked in the points qualifying rounds. And likewise, out of the trucks that made the top 16 and were eliminated there, positions 9 through 16 are assigned by how the trucks ranked in the points qualifying rounds.

Season Points
Since the event is designed around a 16 truck final elimination bracket as the “A Main”, or main event, the winner is automatically assigned 160 points. 2nd gets 150 points, 3rd gets 140 points all the way down the 16th, who receives 10 points. Truck finisher17th and down also receives 10 points regardless of finishing order in an attempt to keep the field even for those who have a bad race and don’t finish well. The combination of this points system takes in to account both a racer’s effort in qualifying points rounds and the final elimination bracket to combine in the overall finishing order for that event. Season totals accumulate from event to event and ultimately decide the points champion for the racing season.